Mayor and City Council

Adak is a second class city established in 2001 and has a City Manager form of government.  The city is not part of an organized borough but is part of the Aleutians West census area.

The City Council consists of seven council members, elected by the citizens of the City of Adak.  The Mayor and Vice-Mayor are selected to serve a one-year term from among the council members shortly after the election.  Municipal elections are held the first Tuesday of each October and each council member elected serves a three-year term. City Council is responsible for the legislative functions of the City, developing overall vision, establishing policy, passing local ordinances and voting on budget appropriations.

The City Council employs a professional City Manager who has broad authority to oversee the day to day operations of the municipality, implement City Council policies, enforce the Code of Ordinances, oversee capital projects, manage the annual budget, and advise the Mayor and City Council on long term planning.

The City Council is interested in the public’s opinion on issues. A member of the public can write to the Council at the following address: P.O. Box 2011, Adak, Alaska 99546-2011, or deliver written correspondence to the above address. E-mail may be sent to clerk [at] Any item requesting Council action must be delivered to the Clerk’s office by Friday of the week before the scheduled Council meeting.

Regular meetings of the Adak City Council are held at 5:00 p.m., on the third Tuesday of each month, in the Cafeteria at City Hall.  Please contact the City Clerk’s Office for more information at (907) 592-4500 or by email to clerk [at]

There are seven council seats.  Current members (* signifies appointed) and the ends of their terms are:

Seat  Term Expires
City Council Seat 1A: Elaine Smiloff October 2026
City Council Seat 1B: Cody Brons (Vice-Mayor) October 2026
City Council Seat 2A: Chris Tolliver October 2024
City Council Seat 2B: Tina Romberg October 2024
City Council Seat 3A: Maureen Russell October 2025
City Council Seat 3B: Emmitt Raymond October 2025
City Council Seat 3C: Terri Douglas (Mayor) October 2025